Blog: Kids Lit Picks

kids picks

Mystery Reader: Monster Trouble

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Monster TroubleMonster Trouble!       

by Lane Fredrickson ; pictures by Michael Robertson

K - 3rd Grade 

Monsters have infested Winifred Schnitzel’s bedroom. They don’t scare her, but they make it hard for her to get any sleep. How will Winifred get these pesky monsters to leave her alone? Luckily, she has a book of monster traps--and a secret weapon! Though Fredrickson’s text appears clunky at first, the rhythm and meter flow beautifully, and the rhyming makes the book perfect for reading aloud to young children without adding a Mother Goose element older children might find off-putting. The delightful traps in Winifred’s Monsters Beware book recall Dr. Seuss and Rube Goldberg, and listeners will love how Winifred eventually solves her monster problem. It’s Robertson’s charming digital illustrations, however, that set Monster Trouble! apart. His artwork mimics a cut-paper collage, allowing for texture and depth, and his style seems to reference Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. The vivid colors counteract the sleepy subject matter and complement Winifred’s bold personality; the images showcase her bravery and ingenuity. He renders the monsters with care, making their monstrous nature obvious yet simultaneously not too scary for the youngest of readers. Perfect for fans of Pixar’s Monsters, Inc. movies and Foster’s, Monster Trouble! is an endearing read-aloud story that will entertain adults and youngsters alike.

 

PreK  Picture Book  Mystery Reader  K  Emily's Picks  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Picks By Kids: Kate

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Kate, 5th Grader Picks:

landofstoriesThe Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

by Chris Colfer

                  

Kate recommends The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell because it is about these two kids and other people that help them. There is a series of these books so you can keep reading after the first book.  Kate gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: Zach

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Zach, 2nd Grader Picks:

snakesSnakes

by Nic Bishop

                  

Zach recommends Snakes because it is about snakes.  This book has every snake in the world. They are awesome. Zach gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: Skylar

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Skylar, 5th Grader Picks:

threetimesluckyThree Times Lucky

by Sheila Turnage

                  

Skylar recommends Three Times Lucky because it is an exciting adventure story about Mo and her best friend Dale.  Her favorite part was when Mo and Dale solve the mysteries of the two murders that occured and also cleared Dale's name. and all the creatures in it exist. Skylar gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: Veer

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Veer Arora, Age 4  Picks:

rsz 20160730 140943Superworm

by Julia Donaldson

                  Superworm

Veer thinks you would like Superworm because he is really nice and helps everyone. Veer rates the book 4 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Mystery Reader:One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

eucalyptus treeOne Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree        

by Daniel Bernstrom; pictures by Brendan Wenzel

K - 2nd Grade 

Rhythmic text and a boy who outsmarts a snake are two excellent reasons to read this humorous book aloud.  If that is not enought to entice young readers and adults, the comedic growing reptilian stomach in the tradition of "There Was an Old Woman who Swallowed a Fly" will lead children to shout out predictions as to how the boy might escape the belly of the snake. For added fun have the kids repeat the refrain "One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree" after you, a little bit louder each time.          

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  2nd  1st

 

Archive posts

Collapse all