Blog: Kids Lit Picks

kids picks

Mystery Reader Picks: Please, Open This Book!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Please Open This BookPlease, Open This Book! by Adam Lehrhaupt

2nd-3rd

Irreverent animals are trapped in this book! "Help us!" They plead. Keep the book open to save them.  Quirky humor and shout outs to readers will work well in a classroom setting where children will be advocating on behalf of the animals. Don't shut the book!  Keep reading.  What more could a mystery reader ask for? Perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures. Ideal for 2nd and 3rd grade kids.

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  Meta-fiction  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  3rd  2nd

 

Early Chapter Books for the New Year

 

election day disaster

The Election-Day Disaster  by Ron Roy (J SERIES Capital Mystery

 

Simple to follow, this 90 page mystery is both entertaining and packs in a lot of information about how the government works.  Illustrations, repetitive vocabulary, and short chapters will appeal to kids transitioning from easy readers to longer chapter books.  Readers will be able to follow the main characters, KC and Marshall, throughout the series as they learn about politics, history and hone their detective skills.

book

 

Series  Rainbow Magic  Magic Tree House  Geronimo Stilton  DC Super Pets  Capital Mystery  Andrew Scarafile  3rd Grade  2nd Grade  "Chapter Books"

 

Hot Off the Presses-Caldecott, Newbery and Other Youth Media Award Results:

 

 

2016 Caldecott Award Winner:

Finding Winnie

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear 

by Lindsay Mattick and illustrated by Sophie Blackall

book

 

 

 

2016 Newbery Award Winner:

last stop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Stop on Market Street  by Matt De La Pena and illustrated byChristian Robinson

book

 

 

 

Monday morning, January 11th the 2016 Caldecott, Newbery and other Youth Media Award winners were announced.  The link to the official results can be found by clicking this link to the American Library Association's website. Check out last week's Kids Lit Picks blog post where the Glencoe Children’s Department Staff selected their favorite contenders for the Caldecott and Newbery Awards.

Youth Media Awards  Newbery  Caldecott

 

Children's Department Staff Picks for the 2016 Caldecott and Newbery Awards

Next week the 2016 Caldecott and Newbery Award winners will be announced and we wanted to join in on the fun.  Glencoe Children’s Department Staff have selected their favorite contenders for the Caldecott and Newbery Awards.  Check out our picks and see whether any of our choices make the cut when the awards are announced on January 11, 2016.

Caldecott Award or Honors Hopefuls:

bear ateThe Bear Ate Your Sandwich  by Julia Sarcone-Roach 

book

 

 

 

 

Newbery  Caldecott

 

Archive posts

Collapse all