Posts tagged '2nd'

Mystery Reader Picks: Be Quiet!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Be QuietBe Quiet!

by Ryan T. Higgins 

2nd and 3rd Grade 

This tongue-in-cheek book is about the creation of an artistic wordless book.  Through humorous interjections and downright silly exchanges Rupert mouse and his friends write the least wordless book ever.  It is so “loud” with words on every page that poor Rupert is defeated in his attempt to create a book where he will be the star in a visually stimulating wordless book.  Read to 2nd and 3rd graders for a huge guffaw!!  Pair with the Book with No Pictures and the truly wordless books Flashlight or Journey

 

Mystery Reader Picks  Humor  Eva's Picks  3rd  2nd

 

Mystery Reader: Life On Mars

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

LifeOnMarsLife On Mars 

by Jon Agee 

K - 2nd Grade 

Jon Agee does it again.  If you liked It's Only Stanley, and who wouldn't, you will enjoy Agee's whimsical space exploration-centric Life on Mars.  A lone astronaut sets out to prove that there is in fact life on Mars.   He is disappointed, but wait! Not so fast...  

Large images with high contrast colors and a sparse planetary landscape make this the perfect book to read aloud to a group.  Children and adults alike will be drawn in by the humor in both the text and the pictures of this charming book.

Mystery Reader  K  Humor  Eva's Picks  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader: Monster Trouble

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Monster TroubleMonster Trouble!       

by Lane Fredrickson ; pictures by Michael Robertson

K - 3rd Grade 

Monsters have infested Winifred Schnitzel’s bedroom. They don’t scare her, but they make it hard for her to get any sleep. How will Winifred get these pesky monsters to leave her alone? Luckily, she has a book of monster traps--and a secret weapon! Though Fredrickson’s text appears clunky at first, the rhythm and meter flow beautifully, and the rhyming makes the book perfect for reading aloud to young children without adding a Mother Goose element older children might find off-putting. The delightful traps in Winifred’s Monsters Beware book recall Dr. Seuss and Rube Goldberg, and listeners will love how Winifred eventually solves her monster problem. It’s Robertson’s charming digital illustrations, however, that set Monster Trouble! apart. His artwork mimics a cut-paper collage, allowing for texture and depth, and his style seems to reference Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. The vivid colors counteract the sleepy subject matter and complement Winifred’s bold personality; the images showcase her bravery and ingenuity. He renders the monsters with care, making their monstrous nature obvious yet simultaneously not too scary for the youngest of readers. Perfect for fans of Pixar’s Monsters, Inc. movies and Foster’s, Monster Trouble! is an endearing read-aloud story that will entertain adults and youngsters alike.

 

PreK  Picture Book  Mystery Reader  K  Emily's Picks  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader:One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

eucalyptus treeOne Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree        

by Daniel Bernstrom; pictures by Brendan Wenzel

K - 2nd Grade 

Rhythmic text and a boy who outsmarts a snake are two excellent reasons to read this humorous book aloud.  If that is not enought to entice young readers and adults, the comedic growing reptilian stomach in the tradition of "There Was an Old Woman who Swallowed a Fly" will lead children to shout out predictions as to how the boy might escape the belly of the snake. For added fun have the kids repeat the refrain "One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree" after you, a little bit louder each time.          

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  2nd  1st

 

Are You Ready For The Summer ? The Camp Edition for Ages Pre-K - Junior High

 

froggy

Froggy Goes to Camp  by Jonathan London and Illustrated by Frank Remkiewicz 

Pre-K - 1st Grade

Froggy is on a new adventure.  He goes off to camp where he learns new skills, makes friends and of course misplaces his swimming trunks.  Uh! Oh!  

book

 

Summer  PreK  K  Junior High  Eva's Picks  Camp  8th  7th  6th  5th  4th  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader: Are We There Yet?

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Are We There YetAre We There Yet? by Dan Santat

2nd and 3rd Grade 

How many times have you heard this question?  "Are we there yet?" If you are like me you probably cannot count that high.  Caldecott medalist, Dan Santat takes us on a colorful journey right from the inside cover of the book until we reach the final destination(grandmother's house).  Car ride boredom leads to great flights of fancy reminding us that a whole lot can happen when kids are left to rely on their imagination for entertainment.  Children will get a huge kick out of the humorous images and thought bubbles and the way in which the book must be rotated to be read.          

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  3rd  2nd

 

Mystery Reader: This book just ate my dog!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

book just ate dogThis book just ate my dog! by Richard Byrne

K - 2nd 

Do you devour books?  Turnabout is fair play.  This book eats everything in sight starting with Bella's dog.  Children will be particularly delighted by the ultimate resolution which requires physically shaking and turning the book to release Bella's dog and all the others digested by the book.    

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  2nd  1st

 

Need a new graphic novel? Try these out-of-this-world space stories:

 

Glorkian Warrior

Book One:  The Glorkian Warrior Delivers A Pizza

Series: The Glorkian Warrior by James Kochalka

1st Grade and Up

Space  Series  Ms. Sophie's Picks  Graphic Novels  6th  5th  4th  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader Picks: I Want My Hat Back

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

I want my hat backI Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

K - 2nd 

Bear's hat is missing.  Who took it?  Follow the visual clues to discover the culprit. Humor, repetitive rhythmic text with a twisty ending and wonderfully expressive animals makes this award-winning book a sure hit. And this charming and quirky tale will generate lots of interesting observations and discussion.  

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  3rd  2nd  1st

 

5 Books to Celebrate Women's History Month

 

viva frida

Viva Frida  by Yuyi Morales

PreK - 2nd Grade

Through unique combinations of mixed-media this award winning picture book celebrates the life and artistic talents of famous painter Frida Kahlo.  Poetic text and vibrant colors will speak to children and adults alike.

book

 

Women  PreK  Miss Eva's Picks  Girls  Biographies  7th  6th  5th  4th  3rd  2nd  1st